Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Just got my first air compressor yesterday...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just got my first air compressor yesterday...

and I'm looking at the bike with a gleam in my eye.

Would it not be wise to use air tools on the bike? Are pneumatic tools too powerful for loosening screws and bolts on these old bikes? Specifically I'm wanting to use my new impact driver to loosen all of the case bolts and replace with with Allen's heads.

I'm also assuming it's not a good idea to even think about tightening with an air ratchet.

This is the one I got along with a better air hose.
    Last edited by Guest; 04-09-2008, 02:46 AM.

I use air tools on my bike on a regular basis. Invest on some 3/8 drive tools. Save the 1/2 inch stuff for the heavy work, Start slow and only increase power if needed. On assembly, keep the setting at low pressure then finish by hand. When I wrenched bikes for a living I would use air on everything coming apart and going together. It's a matter of knowing the tools capabilities so you don't wind up breaking things.

Comment

The impact driver you hit with a hammer is what you need on your case bolts. An air impact driver is a completely different animal and won't do a bit of good on your case bolts.

The reason for using the hammer-driven impact is that the force of the hammer blow forces the bit into the cheez wiz phillips screw head and applies a shot of torque at the same time, hopefully cracking the stupid thing loose so it can get chucked in the garbage. An air impact just applies torque with internal hammers.

With that said, I use air tools all the time in mechanical work on bikes and cars. You can save a lot of time and effort, and in many cases it's much safer to use an impact than to try and brace things against the torque of a steady pull. Many times, when something finally cracks loose by hand, you can bust a knuckle or worse, so you can avoid this with air impact tools.