80 850gl carrbs HELP!!!!!!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

80 850gl carrbs HELP!!!!!!!!

I am a noob this is my first bike and so the first bike carbs I have rebuilt, mand I am confused! I got the rebuild done and she ran but was pouring fuel, figured out the float needles were upside down, fixed that and now the bike is only getting fuel to inside two carbs she has 23,400 miles and I am third owner. Please HELP ME!!! Thanks in advance.

Take this with a grain of salt, because I haven't had my own carbs apart, but: I have read that there is a filter screen at the inlet to each carb. That should be the only thing that would prevent 1 and 4 from filling (beside severely incorrect float height). Strange that it happened to two carbs at once, and they happen to be the farthest from the main inlet T.

Could it be that your petcock is not holding vacuum on prime, and the fuel has stopped flowing? I had inconsistent flow into my carbs until I replaced my petcock. You can check into this by disconnecting the vacuum line from #2 carb and sucking on it. You should hear and feel the petcock open when you first suck on it. If on prime, you shouldn't be able to get this again for quite a while, because a properly functioning prime will stay open after the first application of vacuum. With mine on the side stand, and the petcock in the run position, I had to suck on the vacuum line for about 30 seconds before fuel started coming out of the #1 carb's open drain hole. Anyhow, that's one theory. You bike is the same as mine, and probably also needs the new petcock anyway. Does it starve for fuel at highway speed, or haven't you been there yet?
    Last edited by Dogma; 04-28-2008, 08:28 AM.
    Dogma
    --
    O LORD, be gracious to me; heal me, for I have sinned against you! - David

Skeptical scrutiny is the means, in both science and religion, by which deep insights can be winnowed from deep nonsense. - Carl Sagan

--
    '80 GS850 GLT
    '80 GS1000 GT