Newb trying to buy tires...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newb trying to buy tires...

So, I have decided that I know nothing about motorcycle stuff. I'm generally speaking a total motorhead and a boat mechanic by trade, but being that my recently purchased '79 GS750 (I posted a thread freshly after purchasing in the Owners section) is my first bike \\/, my experience with these things is nil. Currently the bike is partially torn apart and the head is being rebuilt, but that is a thread for another day. I'm trying to get everything else in order while it's down so that when I get the head back and all together it will be ready to ride. And before everyone flames me, I did search, but it is such a "generic" topic that I could read old threads all night trying to find what I am looking for.

Before this thread gets too long and you all leave out of boredom before reaching the main point, it needs new tires. I have been looking at the big retailers online and at this point I'm looking at the Bridgestone Spitfire S11's. They are very affordable, at about 120 bucks or so for the set from Dennis Kirk, and seem like a good fit for the bike. One site even said "a well matched tire for bikes from the '70s and '80s". My question is, as a rook, might there be any other tires, reasonably priced, that may be better suited? Maybe some first hand experience with what y'all are running? And on the same topic, I'm planning on a 120/90-18 out back, essentially the metric equivalent to the stock size as I understand, but could I go any wider, and how much?

Thanks,
    efjay

Oh boy, another tire thread :shock:

but thanks for asking.

You will get just about as many opinions as posters in this thread, but you asked for alternatives, so here goes...