Carb Synching how much should it cost? 81 gs650

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Carb Synching how much should it cost? 81 gs650

I took the bike out after purchasing it and realized that one carb is out of synch and I am no backyard mechanic when it comes to carbs, so i am wondering what this would cost me to have a dealer do or just a regular bike mechanic? Also if I do not get them done what could happen?

I have never had this done at a dealer, but I have no doubt they would charge at least one hour of labor. For not much more than that price, you can get the tool and do it yourself. Next time you do it, you will have your investment recuperated. And...that's IF they will even work on the bike. A distressing number of dealers are refusing to work on bikes that are more than 10 or 15 years old, and yours is older than both of those numbers added together. :shock:

What will happen? Just more of what you are experiencing now. By the way, you never said how you know it's out of sync. Typical symptoms are rough idle and uneven response just off-idle.

Before you do your carb sync, you really should check the valves. Again, it's a couple more tools, but the book says to do that every 4,000 miles or so, and for some of us that's twice a year, or more often. \\/

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

Well this is my first bike and all of my friends that ride Harleys are telling me the first sign is uneven coloring on the pipes. I was thinking this could vary bike to bike but you never know..