Should the 850 run better than the 750?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should the 850 run better than the 750?

This is a question for those long time enthusiasts who have owned/ridden multiple GS's...
    I own a 1980 GS850G tourer that I bought last summer (my first GS) and a 1982 GS750T I bought a few weeks ago. I really like the 850 and thought it ran fine until I started riding the 750. The 750 has sooooo much more power. Is the 16 valve 750 supposed to be that much more powerful than the 8 valve 850? Here are the particulars about the bikes:

1982 GS750
    21,000 mi
    Haven't touched the carbs, maybe next winter. Doesn't matter though, this is the one that runs so good. Once that engine hits 3000 RPM it pulls hard to the redline.
    Stock air cleaner, stock exhaust, clean air filter
    compression is 160+

1980 GS850G
    21,000 mi
    full faring, bags, and trunk (some extra weight but not that much)
    rebuilt carbs (thoroughly cleaned; new needle valves, jets, gaskets, o-ring kits)
    New o-rings in the intake manifolds
    Stock air cleaner and exhaust
    Valves adjusted to spec.
    Compression is on the low end, 125-140 psi range. If I recall correctly the clymer manual says it should be 128-170(?).
    -other than the fact the values are on the low end, I'm not seeing any other typical symptoms of a tired engine like fouled plugs, oil smoke, hard starts, etc.

So... Any opinions among those who have owned or ridden both? Is the difference due to engine technology, engine wear (compression), or something else?

Weight of the bike?

Comment

Originally posted by Dave8338 View Post
      Weight of the bike?
      I can tell you that an 850g weighs about 550lbs without luggage - about 50lbs heavier than some of the 1100's. Sorry, can't tell you how much the 750 weighs, just that the 850 is a beast.

Comment