Infamous Coil Relay Mod Help Needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Infamous Coil Relay Mod Help Needed

I want to do this mod and since my bike is completely free of wires (stator, starter and ignition wires still on the bike), I thought this the perfect time to do so. I am not a mechanic, electrician nor a grease monkey so I need a bit more help. I am running a dynaS ignition and stock coils. Based on the wiring sheet from the dynaS, the black wire of the coil is spliced into the black from the ignition. The white wire of the coil goes to the white on the ignition. The red from the ignition splices into the two o/w wires from the cable then routed to the fuse box. But from what I can see on the various coil relay mod post, there isn't mention of the ignition. FYI: I don't have any controls on my handle bars. My mock wiring set up uses a toggle for the starter and a toggle for the kill switch.

Now for my dilemma:
    My relay has 5 connectors: 30, 85, 86, 87 and 87a. 86 is fused and runs directly to the battery. 85 is ground and 30 is ???? and 87 is for??? I am unaware if both the o/w go onto one connector, if one goes on 30 and the other 87 or.... If I were any smarter I would be dumb.

Attached, please find my idea of a wiring cheat sheet. I have listed several questions on it.

Thanks for your help.

you will need the 4 prong relay i believe... i havent seen anyone utilize a 5 pronger yet...

do a search for coil relay mod and you will find it on here in several places, step by step on how to wire it up

Comment

your diagram is a little off,

you wont touch the black or white wires for the coils. the plan is to interrupt the power to the coils from the battery, not the single wires from the dyna ignition

ill try to find you a proper diagram

Comment

heres the page that has all the info you will need....

Comment