gs550l needs carb and jetting help!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gs550l needs carb and jetting help!?

I'm a newbie. Just bought the bike and fell for the ' you just need to ride out the dead spot' deal.
    Here's the full story. This bike in all is great. THe previous owner put after market muffler pipes on, Uni air pod, cleaned and put larger jets on the Mikuni(?)carbs. It ran great when I test rode it except for a little bit of a dead spot around 2200to2500 rpm. Now I can barely get it above 35-40mph. I get all kinds of power to there now it starts to go flat around 4-5000rpm. Sometimes when it's well warmed up it gets up to 50+ but it's not consistent. It also seems to suck the gas and I smell like gas fumes. Also when I role off the gas when it's flat, it jumps!
    I've talked to a few diff. folks and shops ($$$$$$) I've heard jetting, poor cleaning, go back to stock (if I can find the parts) and sure I can fix it for $3-400 everytime I go in to adjust the jets till I get it rite.
    This bikes in great shape and I truely am dedicated to get it running.
    Any advise, local(Portland,OR) help or any tips on local private mechanics would be appreciated.
    Help me out to get this great bike back on the road.
    Last edited by Guest; 07-02-2008, 06:46 PM.

what have you done so far to the bike? any carb work? cleaning? what is the condition of the air filters? do you have a fuel filt in? do you have a manual?
    if everything else is right, then you have a good tuning job ahead of you.

Comment

so far

I picked up a couple replacement fuel filters. I learned form my VW days to start with the cheapest and easiest fix first. My manual is on the way. I have one on hold at the library until mine comes in. I havn't done anything other than look for help at the local shops and experienced mechanic friends( no time)

Comment

Best to ask questions