yet another 1 cold pipe,2 hot 1 warm

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

yet another 1 cold pipe,2 hot 1 warm

I realize you more knowledgable folks have heard this a zillion times,I did search around and tried a few things,here's my little story...so I started up my 750T(1982 model),after adjusting the throttle cable,idle to 1k rpm,pipes 1 and 2 were really HOT(like right away),3 almost as hot,#4,could keep my bare fingers on,after letting the engine run for a few min's..There is spark to all cyl's,carbs have been cleaned new o-rings the whole bit,intake boots are fine no leaks and I added adhesive backed weather stripping to the airbox lid,to make sure it is well sealed.Airbox to carb connection is tight.I re-pulled the carbs to check the floats diaphrams, jets,no dice,bear in mind I'm no expert,but all looks okay..I did set the floats as described (and clarified by Basscliff).There is fuel in all bowls.My petcock appears to be working properly,flows on prime,not on on or res,doesn't leak.I tried putting a bit of oil in the #4 cyl plug hole,thought it would re-seal ring(found this idea while"searching" here )re-installed plug(all new plugs btw)got a puff of smoke on start-up(d-uh)pipe still cold.So I 'm stumped.Also,when I twist the throttle after letting the engine run for a bit,the it bogs a bit then"clears up "and roars at 5k rpm or so.Doesn't react immediately to throttle twistin" in other words,takes a second to react.I haven't adjusted or even checked intake/exh valves,I realize it should be done.Apart from that any ideas?I feel SOOOOO close to having a good running GS!!.... appreciate your input ,thanks all

Valves

You should, by all means, check and adjust your valves....but I highly doubt that's the reason #4 isn't 'cooking'. As you know, a cold cylinder is really common here on the forum and, interestingly, it seems like it's almost always #4. I'll be curious to see what you find.
    1980 GS1100E....Number 15!

Comment