testing a starter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

testing a starter

I have recently purchased a 1982 GS850G in need of a bit of help. I have made headway but this evening even after putting the battery on the charger it would not turn over.

This is not altogether a surprise as i thought either the Batterry or the starter was bad. A battery is easy to test and it may not be great but it will hold 13.5 volts for a while.

I pulled the starer and decided to have a look. Nasty black ugly worlds inside that starter. the brushes were little nubs. I had contacted the PO to check on the starter and he indicated it was a recent replacement. It had a hard life before it came to this bike.

Now for the question. Should a starter spin if I use a 2 amp charger on it? Hook the red clip to the bolt and the black clip to the housing. should that spin the starter. It tries to spin but not quite there.

Any thoughts?

2 amps? Probably not although I am not an expert. I have not looked in a manual but they might give the current draw for the starter.

Try it off a battery if you can. Even a car battery if you are just doing a quick test. The starter (unless it's bad) should not draw more current then is needed. The part I am unsure about is if the starter is unloaded. ie. not attached to the motor.

C
    1983 750 Katana
    1982 750 Katana (parts use)
    1983 RZ350

Comment

the starter is on my kitchen counter

Comment

Robin,

I THINK I have spun a starter (out of the bike) with a 1 amp trickle charger but I'm not positive (no pun intended). ...........................I guess that's not much help.......

Joe
        IBA# 24077
        '15 BMW R1200GS Adventure
        '07 Triumph Tiger 1050 ABS
        '08 Yamaha WR250R