Carb help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Carb help

My bike was running poorly; bogs on the low end, idles poorly and starting to backfire. It seems that it is time to try my hand at carb disassembly. The bike is a '79 GS1000S. I was told that it has smoothbores, but don't honestly know. They are Mikuni, but I can't see a model number on them.

In any case, I downloaded the carb cleaning & repair tutorial but alas, my carbs are a different type. The Haynes manual says to remove the tops, remove the bolts from the bellcrank, then remove the screw retaining the claw plate and remove the throttle rod. I can't find a claw plate and the throttle rod appears to be held in place by a lock washer of some type (pic).

This is my first venture into carb work. I'm a noob and have only had the bike for about 10 months, so I appreciate your patience and advice.

Thanks.

Here is a picture of the carbs

Perhaps this will help in indentifying them.

Thanks.

Comment

They ain't standard VM28s that's for sure. A photo of the bottom or the venturi would help more in id.

Nevertheless, your symptoms do suggest a fuelling problem. This could be leaking / split carb to head rubber boots or bad O rings or bad carb to airbox connections. I'd check these and replace the O rings as a matter of course, they're cheap and Robert Barr on here provides an excellent service.

Apart from maybe how you split you carbs the principles are the same on all the VM carbs so the carb rebuild tutorial is still helpful. You might not have the fuel meter screws on your carbs - the ones on the underneath - and you might have air pilot jets that screw in at foot of the carb mouth. Those will most likely be your main differences.

This is a good bedtime read and shows how all the fuel and air passageways meet up on the VMs.

79 GS1000S
      79 GS1000S (another one)
      80 GSX750
      80 GS550
      80 CB650 cafe racer
      75 PC50 - the one with OHV and pedals...