Drain plug hole STRIPPED!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Drain plug hole STRIPPED!!!

I did an oil change on my new to me '80 gs850 that had no leaks at all and when I was screwing the drain plug back in something didn't feel right so I stopped. I backed the plug out and there were metal threads falling out of the hole! What can I do now?

How bad is it? You can get one of those universal plugs kits like they sell for cars, or you can drill and tap the next size up, or you can chase the threads and clean them up and hope like hell htat works.

Comment

They make oversized(+1) drain plugs for situations like this. I have had to install more than a few over the years when I was turning wrenches for a living. Other option, replace oil pan.

The type that I favored is a two part bolt, meaning you thread it into the oil pan with the gasket and it stays. In the middle of that bolt is another bolt and gasket that you remove for future oil changes.

good luck,
      Bri

Comment

Remove the sump and do a proper repair. You may need to remove the exhaust as well depending on what type of system you have.

Comment

I don't know about an 850, but on my 1150 it's the same thread as the spark plug. 14mm x 1.25. Drop the pan and fix it right. Helicoil.
          The Three Horsemen
          '85 GS1150ES (Current Income Eater)
          '83 GS1100ES
          ‘77 XLCR

"Never ride faster than you can see. Besides, it's all in the reflexes."
          Porkchop Express

Comment

Helicoil! helicoil! helicoil! Nothing better or more sure to hold.

Comment

I wouldn't use a heilcoil, they tend to unscrew when you take the bolt out. A Timesert insert is far better for things like spark plugs and drain plugs because they lock in place more secure than a helicoil.