82 GS850GL running rich

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

82 GS850GL running rich

Here I am to date, dipped the carbs, replaced O rings carb and intake, bench sync'd, valve clearances are with in spec, adjusted the floats, air box sealed. Bike starts but will only run with a bit of twist on the throttle but not steady and not strong, all plugs are black and sooty so I thinking I am running rich.

I think I have my fuel and air screws out of whack. How many turns on each?

I feel I'm getting close to getting this bike running but am missing something, as I'm new to working on bikes this does not surprise me. Thanks for the assist.

It sounds like you're doing everything just about right so I think you're close to a perpetual smile as you glide down the road. Gently seat your mixture screws and then turn them all out 2 1/2 turns. That's a good starting point and your plugs shouldn't be off too far, one way or the other. (This is assuming you're running a stock system.)

If things aren't pretty close and you can't get it figured out, write again and tell us what's going on. I think you'll be fine. By the way, since you said it will only run with a "twist of the throttle", play with your idle screw ( between #2 and #3, as I'm sure you know) and it should idle at about 1000 RPM.
    Last edited by chuckycheese; 09-19-2008, 06:35 PM.
    1980 GS1100E....Number 15!

Comment

the only adjustable screws on your carbs would be the pilot mixture screws (top front of the carb bodies), the stock position is 3,5 turns out

if you had the carbs apart you need to re-set the idle adjuster screw again (when engine warm)
      GS850GT

Comment

What about the screws in the float bowl...they should be seated right?

Comment

Originally posted by Harry Porosky View Post
          What about the screws in the float bowl...they should be seated right?
          ummmm, there are no adjustment screws in the float bowl.