windshield question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

windshield question

OK, so I gave in and have installed a windshield on my 1980 GS850G.

I owned two GS650s previously and never had windshields on either of those. But I was younger then and now that I'm getting a bit older, I'm finding I don't like getting beaten up by the wind when I ride on my daily 35 mile commute to work, which is almost all freeway riding.

So I installed a slipstreamer S-03 windshield on the bike.

Since I'm new to riding with a windshield, I had some questions for anyone who might be able to help me out here.

First, the wind created such a push against the windshield on my first ride that I actually felt like the bike was being shoved around a bit on the freeway. This was going about 70 mph.

Also, the windshield sits about the height of my head, so while I don't feel the wind I used to feel against my chest, I do feel it beating against my head. Is this normal?

Also, when I first rode with it, the whole windshield seemed to get shoved over cockeyed from the wind. I'm guessing I didn't have the upper brackets that attach to the handlebars spaced quite right. Any tips on where to place these brackets for maximum bracing of the windshield?

Sorry to sound so lame in this posting, but like I said, I've never ridden a bike with a windshield before and just am not sure if all this is normal or if there are tips to getting the best performance from the windshield that I can.

Thanks.

Congatulations on the purchase of a 'shield.