Search Feature Came in real handy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Search Feature Came in real handy

I am new to The GS Resources but I have been lurking for quite some time.

I have learned a lot from the forums and has saved me with my motorcycle.

I have two 1983 GS450GA Suzukimatic motorcycles. One is rusty and looks shot but it runs I bought that one in May of this year. The other is the same model but in much nicer shape it has around 8900 miles to this day. I bought this one in Sept of this year.

Well the nicer one had me going with a few problems. Just yesterday I finished working on the bike. I had a problem of the bike running a little rough after a long ride and when it got a little warm. I would remove the left cylinder spark plug wire and nothing would change. Then I would replace the left back and then remove the right side wire and it would shut down. The bike was running on one cylinder. After checking the SPark plugs and Coils they were good. Then removed tank and there was fuel flowing correctly(petcock fine). I then removed carbs. Soon found out that the Choke plunger screw was loose and was dangling next to the carb. Just in case that was not only the problem I took apart the carb. Everithing else was fine and clean. Previous owner did a good job of the Carb cleaning. Then I checked the Intakes after reading about that gasket going bad. As soon as I put the screwdriver to the screws I found out another problem . The intake manifold screws were loose. Sure enough I put everything back together and it started right up and I drove it on the freeway for good measure and it felt better than before.