'83 1100E Leak Proof Moly Fork Seals?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'83 1100E Leak Proof Moly Fork Seals?

Has anyone tried the Leak Proof Moly Fork Seals from the Dennis Kirk Catalog? I have an '83 1100E with the air forks and anti-dive.

I plan on installing the Progressive Springs so I don't need to use the air system.

Just wondering if anyone has opinions on that particular brand or what you have used and recommend?

This is my first attempt at this repair, and I'm looking to do it right the first time.

Thank you.

I've used Leak Proof & stock Suzuki & had great results with both. I've never had an issue with either. Ray.

Comment

Do a good visual inspection of the tubes. If there are any gouges or scratches then its best to fix them before reassembly or your doing work for nothing.

I'm lucky enough to have a good friend with a lathe. I mount mine up in the lathe and spin it at high rpm and use fine emery cloth and oil to smooth them out. You could do it by hand it will just take longer.

Comment

I like the Leak-Proofs (is anything ever really leak proof?) because if, like me, you don't have a seal installation tool, you can still replace the seals. They just slide in by hand but be sure you have them right side up, otherwise they will most definitely leak. Something to do with the shape of the seal...

Comment

I have heard nothing but bad things aout Leak Proof seals. Go with oem. I have tried Bikemaster with good results but I prefer OEM.

Comment

I have tried seals from BB and dealer OEM seals and my left side still leaks. Guess I gotta do a teardown and a closer inspection next spring.
            82 1100 EZ (red)

"You co-opting words of KV only thickens the scent of your BS. A thief and a putter-on of airs most foul. " JEEPRUSTY

Comment

Only ever used genuine Suzuki seals.

Suzuki mad

Comment