Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1979 GS850G forks

Hey fellas

This GS850 I'm bringing back from the dead has pretty weak forks. The type of riding I'm planning to do on this bike will not demand stellar suspension performance, however I'm concerned with the safety of weak forks, particularly in the event that I need to avoid a homicidal cage or what have you. It definately happens, as we all know.

There's a shop I trust (despite having to follow their work up on occasion) that has a price on a rebuild of a set of these forks for $120.00 PLUS parts.

How about the cost of those parts? The guy at the shop was busy when I was there, and I was handling another problem anyway so I didn't nail him down on it. Have any of you guys done this yourself? Where did you get parts, were they OEM (price too high!) or aftermarket?

Those who have done it, how does rebuilding a set of forks compare to handmaking a swiss watch?

I'm a mechanical guy by trade and very good with my hands, but I'm more of an electrical / mechanical guy, and not much for lots of tiny little circlips and pins and oriented rods, the stuff I would call "watchmaking".

I like hammers and impact wrenches more than circlip pliers, I'll put it that way.

What type of work is a fork rebuild?

Price sounds ok- replace seals & oil probably charge extra if it needs bushings... BUT you need to spend an extra $80 and get some progressive fork springs

Comment

progressive springs and a fork brace work wonders

Comment

Sq, is that $80 total, or per fork?

Fast, I appreciate the suggestion, but aftermarket add-ons are against this projects' religion. Money could not be more of a factor on this Frankenstein's monster. Interesting part though, might look into it for a bike I'm willing to spend real money on.

That brings the price thing back up.