Sissy bar mechanical drawings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sissy bar mechanical drawings

I need help with getting some replacement sissy bars on my two GS machines. I've been scouring ebay and anywhere else I can think of for about 18 months now and have come up empty, I've even posted here for anyone that has spares they might consider parting with but still no joy.

Now I'm at the point where I'm contemplating having some fabricated to be as close to original as possible. Everyone I talk to capable of making the sissy bars for me ask the same question - "do you have a mechanical drawing showing dimensions and mounting points?" Of course I don't.

So the question is does anyone here have anything that may be of use to specify that to the fabrication shop? My only other option is trying to measure the pertinent information from my machines and probably getting it wrong.

The machines in question are:
    1979 GS850GN
    1982 GS1100GL

Can anyone help or have other ideas?
    It's smoke that make electronic components work.
    Every time I've let the smoke out by mistake, they never work again.
    '80 GS250T... long gone... And back!
    '86 Honda Bol D'Or... very sadly long gone
    '82 GS1000SZ
    '82 GS1100GL
    '01 Honda CBR1100XX BlackBird

I'm a machinist, and if someone came to me and wanted something like that made, I would want to do the measuring.

So I recommend just taking the bike to them. They can measure it, and if it doesn't fit it's their fault.

Comment

One other thought concerning measurements ...

what do they have to match up to?

I have a couple of K&G racks here, and have a sissy bar for one of them, but if you don't have a K&G rack, the measurements won't neccessarily do you any good.

Let me know if you have a K&G rack and I can get measurements for you. I can even draw up some crude, but effective, drawings and provide pictures.