GS850 wont run without choke on

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS850 wont run without choke on

I have a 79 GS850. Oringinall the #3 exhaust was not getting hot. After a lot of work on the carbs, it is finally getting hot. But now, it won't run unless the chock is on. If I turn the chike off, it dies. I have the needls set in the second position from the top. The air screws are all in different positions. The fule screws are about 1/2 turn out. The bike seems like it is running really lean and I can;t figure out how to richen it up. The bike has new intake boots and boots to the airbox.

I'm no pro, but my guess is that your carbs are the only source of your problem. If the bike is running, that meens the electiclal and mechanical are ok. I don't know if this is possible with your bike but, a while ago, I put back together my carbs with the floaters up side down. The needles where not working right and this resulted in constant starving of the motor. Just brain storming here... Good luck!

Originally posted by dbarnes42 View Post
    I have a 79 GS850. Oringinall the #3 exhaust was not getting hot. After a lot of work on the carbs, it is finally getting hot. But now, it won't run unless the chock is on. If I turn the chike off, it dies. I have the needls set in the second position from the top. The air screws are all in different positions. The fule screws are about 1/2 turn out. The bike seems like it is running really lean and I can;t figure out how to richen it up. The bike has new intake boots and boots to the airbox.

Comment

when you did alot of work on the carbs, did you clean the pilot circuits? they are probably under some aluminum plugs on the front of the carbs if you haven't done them. i had a similar problem and it turned out to be a combo of dirty pilot circuit and leaky o-rings between the carb boot and head.

Comment

Originally posted by seuadr View Post