Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

took my bike for it's first real ride, plugs white?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

took my bike for it's first real ride, plugs white?

So I finished my MSC course and passed them/c test with 0 demerits (pause for applause) and today took my bike out for my first ride on it.

It still smokes for a good 1-3 min on startup out the left pipe, it isn't the petcock, and it is bluish, I was thinking valve seals but I have no idea, goes away when warm.

It idles fine though, rides nicely, seems to pull smoothly in all gears, all in all it seems to run perfectly, but keep in mind this is my first bike ever AND I did a bunch to it wothout ever riding it beforehand, so NO frame of reference...

I got home and gave bike a quick lookover, seems oil is not only leaking from somewhere but possibly spraying? It was on the bottom of the bracket that holds the carbs together and all over the starter cover, only thing I touched is the cam cover, no oil leaks there though?

pulled the plugs, VERY clean still (new plugs) ant the top electrode (the bendy one) was clean with a whitish haze on it, so I guess its running lean, but everything is stock except the aftermarket mufflers on it, which seal about as well fully clampled as they do pulled right off, which is to say they leak TONS, is this enough to cause it to run lean? Is it bad enough I shouldnt ride it?

Also it seems the left idle/air screw doesnt do anything, the right one affects the idle like it does on cars I have worked on (tune to best idle) but the left one doesnt do anything noticible? I cleaned them, ne o-rings, passage was clear and clean...

help I HAVE to ride it to work this week so hopefully I can find the source of these issues before it blows up!

HI Mr. domino,

Here's a few thoughts from my "half-vast" knowledge...