is there a way to rebuilt carbs without having to sync carb

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

is there a way to rebuilt carbs without having to sync carb

on my 1980 gs1100l im wanting to rebuild carbs and add larger jets while im at it my question is can i do this without having to sync the carbs thanks

I'm not an expert but I just rebuilt mine and from the way I see it as long as you don't separate the carbs, mechanically the syncronization should remain the same. You can change the jets without separating them also. You of course won't be able to dip them or clean them to well because of the rubber parts.
    Eddie V

Comment

Originally posted by 1980gs1100l View Post
      on my 1980 gs1100l im wanting to rebuild carbs and add larger jets while im at it my question is can i do this without having to sync the carbs thanks
      Hi,

Rebuild carbs.
      Bench sync carbs.
      Check and adjust valve clearances.
      Vacuum sync carbs.

Guides and links to information, including jetting guides, are on my website.

Thank you for your indulgence,

BassCliff

Comment

Originally posted by eddiev View Post
        I'm not an expert but I just rebuilt mine and from the way I see it as long as you don't separate the carbs, mechanically the syncronization should remain the same.
        You are quite correct, however, there is no way you can properly clean and 'rebuild' the carbs without separating the rack.

The carbs need to be dipped to clean all the little passages between the jets. If you don't separate the rack, the o-rings in the fuel transfer tubes will be eaten away, requiring you to separate the rack, anyway.