am I correct in assuming...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

am I correct in assuming...

that there should be no power going to the points when they are open?
    I'm using a continuity tester set a new pair of pts in a '79 425 and when their' are closed the light is bright, but when I open the pts there is still a dim light on the tester. seems odd to me.

I'm new at this motorcycle stuff but havin' a lot of fun trying to get this running like should.

thanx in advance for any input.

Z

First of all,

If the key is ON and the 'kill' switch is ON, you should have power going to the points.

How do you have your test light connected? One side of the points should have 12 volts to it whenever the key is ON. The other side should also see that 12 volts when the points are closed. You will need to have your test light clip connected to a chassis ground to see this. If you are trying to use your test light to set ignition timing, connect your light clip to one side of the points and the point of the test light to the other side of the points. The test light should be OFF when the points are closed. When the points open, the test light will come on. Hopefully, this will be just as the F mark shows in the timing window. You will need to do this for both sets of points.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

Steve;
      thanks for the welcome