83 GS1100 GL Alternator Wiring.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

83 GS1100 GL Alternator Wiring.

Hey everyone. So I am took my bike apart not realizing that the three wires coming from my alternator are all white. The wires to from my bike to the alternator are yellow, white w/ blue stripe, white w/ green stripe. What is the easiest way to figure out if I have it hooked up the right way? Someone told me once if the alternator is hooked up right the bike will run if you disconnect the battery but that didn't work for me. I tried using a voltometer but I am new to this and may have messed up with trying to use that. Anyone have a suggestion as to how I can figure out the write way it needs to be wired up?

Thanks.
    Tom

Originally posted by TK685 View Post
    Hey everyone. So I am took my bike apart not realizing that the three wires coming from my alternator are all white. The wires to from my bike to the alternator are yellow, white w/ blue stripe, white w/ green stripe. What is the easiest way to figure out if I have it hooked up the right way? Someone told me once if the alternator is hooked up right the bike will run if you disconnect the battery but that didn't work for me. I tried using a voltometer but I am new to this and may have messed up with trying to use that. Anyone have a suggestion as to how I can figure out the write way it needs to be wired up?

Thanks.
    Tom
    There is no correct order for the wires from the stator to the R/R. They can be hooked up to the R/R in any order as long as the three stator wires go to the R/R.

Comment

Originally posted by TK685 View Post

Thanks.
      Tom
      Don't try to run the bike without the battery.
      If you get it to run, it can destroy the ignitor.

As Billy Ricks said, all the wires from the stator are equal.
      Most bikes use one color for them all the way to the R/R, Suzuki for some reason used a rainbow ...

Comment