Lockeed Breaks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lockeed Breaks

Do any of you have experance with Lockeed breaks? I would like to find out about them for use on my 82, GS1100GKZ. Are they better then stock breaks? Is it worth the upgrade? Who sales them?
    Van

If it were my bike, I would just install the Nissin 4 piston calipers from a late 80s/early90s GSXR 750 or 1100. They are LOTS cheaper, not hard to adapt, & WAYYYYY easier to find & get parts for than the Lockheeds. Ray.

Comment

Originally posted by rapidray View Post
      If it were my bike, I would just install the Nissin 4 piston calipers from a late 80s/early90s GSXR 750 or 1100. They are LOTS cheaper, not hard to adapt, & WAYYYYY easier to find & get parts for than the Lockheeds. Ray.
      Dream on Ray. Salty Monk (Dan) has done tons of work studying brake system upgrades and he uses two piston Kawasaki calipers because they are the most realistic upgrade. I'm not an expert but seem to recall that opposed piston calipers won't fit on a GS unless you perform a complete front end swap.

Regarding Lockheeds, I've never seen a GS with one but would be interested in finding out if anyone has done it. They would be very expensive so not feasible for most people but it would be fun to watch someone else spend their money.
      Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment

Originally posted by Nessism View Post
        Regarding Lockheeds, I've never seen a GS with one but would be interested in finding out if anyone has done it. They would be very expensive so not feasible for most people but it would be fun to watch someone else spend their money.