Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1 rotor question, 1 plug cap question

Hey everyone....sooooo....IT'S ALIVE!!!

Is it possible to remove the caps without damaging them and swapping them onto the proper wires or should I just order new caps, cut the wires a little shorter (because they are quite long still) and put the new ones on? I have brand new OEM replacement coils and new NGK caps, but when they were installed by my brother, he accidentally switched two of the caps.

The rotor question pertains to the rear rotor. I'm familiar with doing brakes on cars, however since my experience with older cars is usually with older cars where it costs as much to turn the rotors as it costs to just get new ones. Since brakes are an exceptionally important safety device I have no problem spending the money to do it right should I have to...but being a student, I want to make every penny count.
    My rear rotor is fairly solid and thick, but does have grooves worn in it. I haven't taken the caliper apart to see if the pads are junk or not, but I imagine I'll be replacing those. Is it a good idea to turn the rotor, get a decent one from the local salvage yard, or should I absolutely go with a new one no matter what?
    The front rotor is in fairly good shape, (better than the rear) but not perfect by any means so I may need to look into replacing it as well.

Thanks for the help everyone...I should be taking it for it's maiden voyage very very soon.

Step #1

Buy one of these or borrow one.

Step #2

Measure your rotors.

Step #3

Compare to the Min thickness marked on the rotor (or check the manual for service limit).

Decide wether it is safe t ojust swap pads or go find a less worn rotor.

Pos

P.S. and in case you are wondering

JA
    August 22nd, 2005, 01:06 AM
    The Frankfort Arsenal,Dillon,RCBS,Lyman,Sportsman Guide,and Harbor Freight are all the same Chinese made calipers just a different name on them.