Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting Technique - '79 GS550E

Just found this site - looks great.

I have a 1979 GS550E, with around 6.5K miles on it. It's in very good condition. This is my first bike. I have very little experience working on bikes (or cars), but otherwise feel fairly comfortable doing almost any sort of mechanical or electrical work. If the bike needs any work, I am planning on doing as much of it myself as possible.

I am having difficulties starting the bike, and I'm not sure if the behavoir is normal, a problem with my technique, or a problem with the bike.

If this problem is already addressed elsewhere, I apologize, but I couldn't find it. A link to the other post would be great.

The bike is hard to start - even on very warm days (90+ F), I have to start on full choke, multiple attempts to start (5-6), with either the electric or the kick starter. Once it's going, it sounds a bit rough for a while (although I don't really have much to compare it to). Even cracking the throttle makes the engine die, instatntly. I have to close the choke very slowly - in small increments, over a period of 3-10 minutes (depending on weather, I think). Any attempt to open the throttle or put the bike in gear stalls it until the choke is 90% closed.

After I get the choke closed completely, the bike seems to run fine. (Although again - I don't really have anything to compare it to. The only bikes I've ridden before were little 125 and 250cc Hondas in an MSF class, that sounded very different)

Is this normal? Am I doing something wrong? Is there something wrong with the bike?