Power to starter, BUT...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Power to starter, BUT...

I have an 80 GS750L, which I have been chasing an electrical issue since I got it. I now officially have power all the way to the starter (I believe I have tested accurately all the way, but DEFINATELY now at the starter). But, when I attempt to start...NOTHING. I have previously posted about this, as I am wanting to determine my engine isn't locked...and a gentleman suggested as a last resort hooking my charger straight to the starter, just to get it to turn over...SO, I finally just tried it...NOTHING!!!!! WHAT THE HECK AM I MISSING??? I am now headed to the local Suzuki shop to order a small part, and witness for myself that there are actually running bikes out there!!! LOL

Another small bit of info that may be helpful...I am an electrical idiot, and this is my first venture on a bike in 25 years.

I am new to electrical also but I recently had a similar problem. First make sure your battery is fully charged you would be amazed by how many problems that could make you think you have. Then check all your ground connections start with that make sure you starter relay is good and the ground for it is also

Comment

Your post describes a bad stater motor, but if your concerned about it (engine) being locked up, you can remove the crank sidecover and put a ratchet on the nut and turn it, or, push the bike and see if letting the clutch out in gear will turn over the motor.

Comment

Originally posted by propflux01 View Post
        Your post describes a bad stater motor, but if your concerned about it (engine) being locked up, you can remove the crank sidecover and put a ratchet on the nut and turn it, or, push the bike and see if letting the clutch out in gear will turn over the motor.