Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

spark plugs - running rich/lean?

So the bike is all stock, airbox + exhaust, 7900 miles,

these are the pictures of the plugs, they were brand new and just installed a few days ago (like 2 or 3)

heres each one separtely closer:

this is the right cylinder

this is the left cylinder

the right one is more chalky kind of hard dark stuff

while the left looks more fluid, has some glisten to it (hard to explain)

what does all this mean? am i running too rich? why is there a difference in the plugs?

what do you brilliant people reccommend i do next?

Thanks

I'm thinking someone's going to say the left one is oil-fouled but I'm no expert. Seems like I heard if it gets glisteny after sitting it's oil and the other one might be gas (rich)
    1983 GS 1100 Guided Laser
    1983 GS 1100 G
    2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500, "Piggy Sue"
    2000 GSF 1200 Bandit (totaled in deer strike)
    1986 Suzuki Cavalcade GV 1400 LX (SOLD)

I find working on my motorcycle mildly therapeutic when I'm not cursing.

Comment

The shiny one is from too much oil, the other might be OK or might be a tad rich, depending on what riding you did while running those few miles.
      Really useless information without doing proper plug chops.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

so how do i fix this?

i've cleaned the carb, set float height new petcock + new airfilter

Thanks

Comment

how do i fix the too much oil on the left plug?

Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by newGS300Lowner View Post
            how do i fix the too much oil on the left plug?

Thanks
            Depends on if it's from the rings, guides or valve stem seals.