83 GS750ES igniter alternatives?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

83 GS750ES igniter alternatives?

I'm wondering if any of the gurus here can tell me what my options would be to replace a dead igniter in a 1983 GS750ES? No longer available from the dealer, and excruciatingly pricey even if it were, I'd like to know my options. I see some igniters from earlier years and other bikes on eBay, and wonder if they could be adapted to fit. If so, how would I do that? I'm a pretty good mechanic in general, have swapped motors in cars, installed aftermarket electronic ignitions in cars, and worked on old dirtbikes a lot, but I'm not a whiz with bike electronic ignitions.

As I understand it, the '83 and newer 750/700 is different than the earlier 750, but I'm not sure what those difference are. Are there any links out there to scanned articles from early '80's bike magazines that might explain the differences? I have scanned articles I've collected over the years for old Kawasakis, but very little about Suzukis.

Thanks for any and all advice, opinions, etc.

BTW, I'm using this info to help me with a purchase decision - haven't got the bike yet, but if I can't find a good affordable ignition, I can't even consider it.

Thanks!

Scott in Penfield NY

you can change over to a dyna S ingition plate and buy an early model advancer/timing plate/wider ign. cover ect.
    then you can wire it and time it.
    or...
    you can PM me.
    i have several of these boxes.
    these boxes was near 400.00 from suzuki after tax.
    maybe look on ebay.
    either way..
    a replacement box will get you back on the road the easiest.

*note*
    i have a box part # 131100-3580 on my desk right now.
    Last edited by blowerbike; 08-03-2009, 03:06 PM. Reason: ---

Comment

i just wanted to add...
      its been a while since i worked on a "83 750".
      i am not 100% for sure they make a dyna S for this model.