GS550T carb problems...help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS550T carb problems...help!

I recently purchased an '81 GS550T. When I got it the guy who sold it to me mentioned that it stalled at stop signs sometimes and he had the carbs cleaned the previous year. The bike was a great price ($540) and it looked/ran good.

Being that this is my first bike and I have very little experience with bikes in general I started learning to ride on it. It had a bit of an idle problem but not that big of a deal. I ended up dropping it very lightly after i had it about 3 days. Nothing on the outside of the bike was damaged but it never ran the same.

To start it up we'd need to pull the choke all the way out and give it gas with the throttle. The idle was really low at times, stalling it out, and then would race up to about 5k rpm and not come back down unless it was turned off even after we adjusted the idle using the knob on the carbs. Once it would get hot, if it stalled out it would refuse to start up again.

We pulled off the carbs and looked at them to see about rebuilding them or cleaning them but they were spottless. We took them to a friend of a friend who said he'd adjust them for me and after we got them back from him we put them back on the bike and now they're just pouring gas out the back of the carbs. i don't know what the guy did to them but now i have no idea what to do.

My boyfriend and i are pretty mechanically handy we just don't have alot of knowledge about bikes yet. ANY tips, advice, or knowledge would be very appreciated!!

if its pouring gas, i would check the float levels.

Try basecliff's site for a manual and check the float levels, maybe your mechanic friend didn't set them correctly?

Comment

Originally posted by newGS300Lowner View Post
      if its pouring gas, i would check the float levels.

Try basecliff's site for a manual and check the float levels, maybe your mechanic friend didn't set them correctly?