GS 425 Stutters Through acceleration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS 425 Stutters Through acceleration

Hey everybody it's my first time posting here. I've searched a lot on this forum before and everyones opinions seem helpful.

I've got a 79 GS425 that I've been restoring with some cafe emphasis.

I had taken the bike out for a ride one day and rode for about two hours with everything operating fine. After doing some high speed riding on the highway the bike began to bog and stutter at all speeds through out all gears.

I got it home and began performing some tests on the bike to see what could be causing the stuttering. Its also interesting to note that when the bike is in neutral and revved it revs fines throughout the entire powerband.

First thing I did was pull the plugs, they looked a bit rich. This is probably because of the re-jetting I did on the bike in order to compensate for the new air filters and less restrictive exhaust I had put on the bike.

Next thing I checked was ignition timing. This was perfect.

Then I checked the charging system to find that it was not operating correctly due to a improperly connected rectifier wire. I fixed the connection put a new battery on and verified that it was charging properly and the stuttering still remained.

I've gone through the carbs 12618618 times everything is good in there float heights are set right all the jets are clear.

So at this point I'm stumped. Anyone have any ideas?

Mods on the bike are pod filters and a new exhaust and rejetted carbs. And a modified wiring harness because i took of some gauge lights.

Hi Mr. BrianH,

Welcome. Did you follow the GS-recommended carb clean/rebuild procedure? You'll find it below. Is your petcock functioning properly? Is there gunk in your tank clogging up the petcock screen? Are you using an inline fuel filter? Now I'll just say "HOoooowwDY!"