81 GS 550L restoration question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

81 GS 550L restoration question

Hi Guys, I'm new to the motorcycle and GS world. My friend gave me an 81 GS 550L to fix up and ride. Basically, everything is frozen from rust on the bike. I have freed the shifter and front brake, and I am currently working on the rear brake. There is a spindle with teeth that goes through a hole in the frame and attaches to the brake lever and brake linkage. I cannot get this spindle out of the hole. I have soaked it in mineral spirits, used PB blaster, a large adjustment tool (sledgehammer), and god knows what else. Does anyone know if there is something on the back of the spindle that's preventing me from removing it? Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks.
    -Mike

The linkage going to the back drum brake is on the other side. I was just looking down in the dark with a flashlight, but I didn't see an immediate way to get that linkage off (plus mine is encrusted with dirt...). Maybe there's a ring you have to expand (whose proper term escapes me at the moment) that will let you take the linkage off. It could also be the case that you have to pull that spindle out instead off pushing it in with a sledgehammer.

Does the lever not work at all? Maybe if you can twist any rust inside loose by pressing the brake lever it will be easier to remove the spindle for a proper cleaning and greasing.

Comment

The pedal is completely frozen. It also didn't move with any amount of persuasion that I could dish out. I looked closely at the back side of the linkage though. I did notice something like a missing section out of a ring that goes around the end of the spindle. Maybe like a really big snapring or something. It was easier to notice with little light due to the heavy rust. I'll have to give her a try again tomorrow. Thanks for the response. PS I have a rear disc brake on my bike, but I'm sure the linkage is very similar.