Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

valve adjustment issue

So I'm affraid to hear the responses to this, but here it goes:

I've never done a valve adjustment before, so I read up on it and found the zip-tie method in lieu of the tappet tool. So, I used zip ties and proceeded to take out all the shims so that I could trade them for correct sizes. In the mean-time, I'm continually turning the engine to accomplish this. I come to find out that without shims, the cam lobes grind against the tappet. So now I have pretty worn cam lobes all around! Not to mention metal particals mixed in with the oil as well. shoot.

Have I done too severe of damage here? what is my course of action? The actual surface of the cam lobes is fine, it's the edges where they contact the tappet that wore down.

For the record, I am very ashamed of myself. I would recommend adding this bit of warning to the resources, so the next guy doesn't get burned by lack of knowledge.

Originally posted by Surfpilot View Post
    So I'm affraid to hear the responses to this, but here it goes:

I've never done a valve adjustment before, so I read up on it and found the zip-tie method in lieu of the tappet tool. So, I used zip ties and proceeded to take out all the shims so that I could trade them for correct sizes. In the mean-time, I'm continually turning the engine to accomplish this. I come to find out that without shims, the cam lobes grind against the tappet. So now I have pretty worn cam lobes all around! Not to mention metal particals mixed in with the oil as well. shoot.

Have I done too severe of damage here? what is my course of action? The actual surface of the cam lobes is fine, it's the edges where they contact the tappet that wore down.

For the record, I am very ashamed of myself. I would recommend adding this bit of warning to the resources, so the next guy doesn't get burned by lack of knowledge.