Testing starter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Testing starter

Is there anyway I can test the starter on my '82 gs 750e without removing it? I don't want to have to remove the carburetors and the cam chain tensioner only to find out the starter is O.K. I'm an expert at taking things apart but an idiot when it comes to putting things back together. I have the service manual, I'm still getting a click from the starter relay but the starter won't turn.Battery tested good,can't jump start.Ran fine and then stalled,when i tried to restart it, the infamous click from the started relay was heard.I guess I'll work on this while I try to put a water pump in my son's 750IL!!HELP!!

one way i know of would be to take jumper cables and go directly to the starter. take of starter cover and hook up cables to battery. touch the ground to the body of the starter and touch the positive to the stud where the cable bolts to it. if its good it should bump.
    MY BIKES..1977 GS 750 B, 1978 GS 1000 C (X2)
    1978 GS 1000 E, 1979 GS 1000 S, 1973 Yamaha TX 750, 1977 Kawasaki KZ 650B1, 1975 Honda GL1000 Goldwing, 1983 CB 650SC Nighthawk, 1972 Honda CB 350K4, 74 Honda CB550

NEVER SNEAK UP ON A SLEEPING DOG..NOT EVEN YOUR OWN.

I would rather trust my bike to a "QUACK" that KNOWS how to fix it rather than a book worm that THINKS HE KNOWS how to fix it.

Comment