changing fork oil

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

changing fork oil

I started to change the fork oil on my 82 1100g which I've never done before. I took back the rubber caps on the top and found a nut with a flathead screw in the middle (picture attached). what is this screw and do I need to remove/loosen prior to undoing the nut? I tried to undo the nut but it wasn't budging so I thought I'd better check first.
    Last edited by Guest; 01-12-2010, 04:05 AM.

Have a look here -

Your fork caps don't look standard for your model - either model D or Model Z.

Comment

Undo the top yoke pinch bolt first. Then use a good ring spanner (22mm i think) NOT A SHIFTER to undo that nut. If you really want turn the slot anti-clockwise to put less pressure onto the spring. If you cant budge use WD40 liberally and let stand over nite. Ill be taking the front wheel out, then the mudguard then take one fork at a time out and let stand upside down to drain the oil. But remember to undo that nut first. Just watch for some spring pressure when its undoing. There a fine thread so be carefull of crossthreading

Comment

Yep, what Sharpy said!
        Badgezz, we don need noh stinkin' badgezz!
        Shin-Ken 1074
        1982 GSX1100SXZ Wire Wheel Katana - BOM Nov 2011
        1981 GSX1135 Katana Build completed Mar 2024, Curb Weight, all fluids and 21 lt fuel = 206 kg.

Comment

Originally posted by sharpy View Post
          ... Then use a good ring spanner (22mm i think) NOT A SHIFTER to undo that nut. ...
          For those of us that don't speak "Aussie", I think he's saying "use a box-end wrench, not an open-end wrench ..."

Tip:
          Use a large screwdriver, push in on the screw and turn it anti-clockwise until there is minimum pressure on it. There are notches in its position, much like setting the preload on the rear shocks. This will minimize the "sprooiinnnggg" when the cap reaches the end of its threads.

Another tip: