Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bogging question

Hey guys I need a little help:
    My bike's been bogging around 1/2 throttle (or so). It's generally between 4-5k RPM and then it seems to smooth out. Recently I took off the air filter and rode for several miles, and it didn't seem to bog-down nearly as much, or even at all. I just put in a new UNI filter the other day, and it's back to bogging. The weird thing is, I know that I'm running rich. Fuel consumption has been as high as 25mpg. I attributed this to a dirty air filter...but even with a new clean one I'm bogging (I haven't taken a reading on fuel consumption yet).

What should I do? I was thinking maybe re-jetting the carbs? I've never done it before...I have a stock exhaust (which has been popping alot). Am I on the right track? Any help would be great.

Assuming the airbox is in good condition. First thing I would do is clean(rebuild) the carbs with the stock jets and replace the intake O-rings.

Factory exhaust?
    sigpic

82 GS850
    78 GS1000
    04 HD Fatboy

...............................____
    .................________-|___\____
    ..;.;;.:;:;.,;.|__(O)___|____/_(O)|

Comment

Originally posted by Octain View Post
      Assuming the airbox is in good condition. First thing I would do is clean(rebuild) the carbs with the stock jets and replace the intake O-rings.

Factory exhaust?
      I recently rebuilt the carbs and replaced ihe intake o-rings.. I began experiencinging the bogging afterwards. The airbox is in decent condition and is clean.

Comment

check an make sure that the airbox is actually sealed. use some weather stripping if need be

Comment

You're really getting only 25 mpg?

You'd better run the basics for us:

1. Valve adjustment?
          2. Carbs synced?
          3. Airbox all sealed?