What to do if bike dies on the road.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What to do if bike dies on the road.

Well guys I got my bike (1980 550) running last fall and the first time I rode it the rear brakes locked up and I barely made it home. Over the winter here I have done a lot of work on it, and it is certainly looking good and running good , at least in the garage, and I think it is ready to go. There have been a couple of nice days here in Indiana lately but I've been reluctant to get out on the road because I'm not sure what's the best way to get it home if something goes wrong.

Say I'm 20 miles from home and the chain breaks, what would you do?

Steve

Im new to riding in general, but it seems a good option would be AAA Plus RV/Motorcycle I plan on getting it ASAP.

Comment

Invest the time and effort into get all the systems of the bike running right and you won't have to worry about it breaking down. These bikes are quite reliable when provided basic maintenance.

Failing that, AAA is a good option. So is having a friend with a trailer.

Comment

Cultivate friendships with people who own pickups...

I've been stranded twice on my GS and I've seen a few others experience crashes far from home at GS rallies.

In each case, the kindness of strangers was amazing and much needed.

A roadside assistance plan means that a low bidder tow truck driver who has never seen your bike before will drag it onto his truck with a logging chain... no thanks.
        1983 GS850G, Cosmos Blue.
        2005 KLR685, Aztec Pink - Turd II.3, the ReReReTurdening
        2015 Yamaha FJ-09, Magma Red Power Corrupts...
        Eat more venison.

Please provide details. The GSR Hive Mind is nearly omniscient, but not yet clairvoyant.

Celeriter equita, converteque saepe.

SUPPORT THIS SITE! DONATE TODAY!

Co-host of "The Riding Obsession" sport-touring motorcycling podcast at tro.bike!

Comment