Help with installing new coils

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with installing new coils

Newbie here, just bought a 79 GS75 about a month ago and it was only running on 2 cylinders so I decided to upgrade the whole ignition system with the Dyna III and some accel coils "almost new" off ebay that came off a GS1100. I put them on my bike and the coils didnt have - or + labled on them, so I just guessed. I bought a clymer manual for it but it's still in the mail. So my question is can someone help me out with which terminal on the coil the orange and white wire go to and elimination will do the rest. I also dont know which plug wire goes to which cyl with the almost new accel coils they are slightly different than stock. Anybody have an old set of directions maybe?? haha any help would be much appreciated. thanks

The coils themselves aren't polarized, so each one gets a hot, on either terminal, the other terminal gets the appropriate 1-4, or 2-3, lead from the Dyna module

Comment

Seems to me the coil on the left side is for 1 & 4, No polarity on the coils

Comment

No + or - any where?

Seems strange that they wouldn't put any marks on them. Even it doesn't really matter it would avoid confusion like you have. Are you sure they don't have marks any where. Maybee on the sides, or bottom, or right next to the poles. The GSX-r coils I instaled had them next to the poles. I almost didn't see them becouse the negative mark looked like part of the molding. The positive barely stood out.

Comment

I just Dyna sized my gs1100. The new coils are NOT marked. However... the line drawing from Dyna shows the B+ ignition feed goes to the terminal opposite the secondary plug wire outputs. The "-" or signal from the igniter/points goes to the terminal closest to the plug outputs.

Comment

Yeah the coil on the left is 1-4... I cant tell which one is 1 and which one is 4 though? Just I just switch it up and see if runs then etc... ?

Comment