Electrical Relay Wiring

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Electrical Relay Wiring

In restoring my '78 GS1000, I decided to re-do the wiring harness (somewhat) where some contacts had been burned. I added a universal blade-style fuse box in place of the glass fuses, and would also like to add a couple of relays (one for headlights, one to bypass ignition power for everything else). Question is, has anyone done this before? As it appears, the Y & W wires (hi/lo beam) from the headlight switch should run to the acc. switched terminal of the relays, correct? I'm a Jaguar tech so electrical woes are no difficulty to me, but the switch diagram has me confused. I'm also re-doing all of the grounds in a 'star' pattern from the negative post of the battery to everything else. I have a psychological aversion to chassis grounds. Thanks!

A Jaguar tech!!!! we should be asking you the electrical questions!! if you can handle Lucas, you can handle anything! LOL

here is the ignition switch bypass diagram I made up
    [img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0UQDOAnwZ8jH02hgXnc!v3*BZ1kZfB8ZOS9h*l43rlkYK1hb35 MAJwpnpxntssNTY1Nmg!AbSjZKJl4xb*hGSRqFqG52CcmqJPSW TrVl2j7tyuYKl5u9g*5bN9fqDtApN/wiring%20drawing.bmp?dc=4675413809748115293[/img]

as for the headlight, I asume you are wanting to bypass the switch, using it to control a relay?
    using a standard 5 terminal relay, you will only need the yellow high beam wire for control.
    you run a hot wire to the relay terminal 30 from the ignition bypass relay, terminal 87A goes to the low beam hot wire, terminal 87 goes to the high beam hot wire.
    the yellow original high beam wire goes to terminal 85 for control of the relay, and 86 goes to a good ground.

a aditional relay can be used to over ride the headlight and turn it off when the starter button is pushed, to reduce the electrical load when the starter is used.