Clutch Question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clutch Question...

When I started my bike yesterday, I noticed that something is not totally right with the clutch lever. Even when I have it all the way pressed, it's not disengaging all the way, hence, the motor drags when you try to start in gear. In neutral, it's fine. Would this be just a simple adjustment to the cable or something? I am hoping, it's an easy fix. I'd hate to have to get into the clutch bigtime, since I've never worked on a bike before. There's a big difference between putting a shift kit in an automatic car tranny and the bike. Scary.

Not sure how much drag you're talking about. Japanese wet clutch bikes always have some drag. Put any of them on a lift, with the rear tire off the ground, put 'em in first gear with the clutch pulled in, and the rear tire will still spin. They're just designed that way. It is much more noticable when the engine is cold because the oil is thicker. Some drag is normal, excessive drag can usually be adjusted out.

Comment

I would make sure the free play in the cable is adjusted properly. Then I'd check to make sure the some of the wires in the cable were not borken letting the cable stretch too much.

Comment

I went thru the clutch thing this past fall on my 83 GS 750ED. I'll pass what I learned along.
        The symptoms were much as you describe, dragging when starting in gear. In my case no matter how much I adjusted the clutch, I could not delay the inevitable, replacing the fiber disks, springs in the clutch. I did replace the clutch cable, that didn't help.

I had never done anything like this ever, but I learned a few things along the way, mostly from the folks on this site.
        1. A torque wrench is a must.
        2. If the fiber disks are close to the allowable limit, figure on changing them. It's roughly 135.00 at Suzuki.