Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help.My bike just died. Diagnosis needed!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help.My bike just died. Diagnosis needed!

I am a newbie and could use some advice. I have a 82 GS650G which I don't ride very often, but which has been behaving fine - until today. I rode it 25 miles to work this afternoon without trouble, and while there, checked the oil level and put in a pint or so. (It was low, but not super low: just on the lower mark).

On the way home, the power seemed to vary. It started to speed up and slow down without my control and then on the freeway it stalled. I got it started once but the next time it refused to start. I had no tools so I pushed it off the freeway, parked it and walked home. The only clue I have is that it felt as though the two outer downpipes were not nearly as hot as the inner two. I am going to go back early tomorrow with some tools to have a look. Now I am not very mechanic and I know bugger all about bikes. What could this be? I will check for spark tomorrow (I can manage that) but where do I go from there? Might this be carburation? The carbs were professionally cleaned about 6 months ago so I thought they should be okay. I once had a similar problem caused by the airbox/carb connection leaking, but that affected all the cylinders not just two.

So any help would be appreciated and if there is anyone in West Los Angeles who feels like helping a fellow GS'ite, I will buy the drinks at breakfast!

Thanks all

Dan

I forgot to mention one perhaps important point in my last message. The first symptom of the problems -for about 4/5 miles on city streets before the stalling started - was that I noticed the idle seemed to have risen to about 2000rpm from its normal 1000rpm. Might this suggest some sort of air leak or maybe a problem with the airbox leaking again?

Comment