Brake Pads: What's Best?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brake Pads: What's Best?

I'm going to replace the brake pads on my GS850GL and am looking at the options, and I see quite a few. Looking at the Dennis Kirk site, is see kevlar, SM15, ceramic, and non-metallic. Can anyone help make sense of these different options? I suppose they'll all work, but what's best (for the money and for my ride).

i bought non-metalic. I am no brake expert but i would think you definitely would not want anything metalic. Pads are cheaper to replace than rotors are.

Comment

On both my bikes I presently have SBS ceramic pads (from Dennis Kirk). I have found these to be very good and will use them again. The 550 which has unvented (solid-nondrilled) rotors stops good wet or dry with very little noise. On the Concours which has 3 vented rotors they stop even better with no noise at all. I have used Dunlop sintered metal pads on the 550, but, I felt they were too hard on the rotors. I have also used Vesrah pads, but, I felt their wet weather performance was weak. The legal disclaimer... 8O this is just my personal experience your actual mileage may vary, substantial interest penalty for early withdrawal, batteries not included, some assembly required, member FDIC. :roll:

Comment

How long do the ceramic pads last? I want something that brakes well and lasts a decent length of time.

Steve

Comment

My experience is a bit different. There's no such thing, in my long experience with GS bikes, as a pad that doesn't brake well. Also, they last about the same.

I've owned 4 GS850's, and now I ride a GS1100GK. 210,000 miles altogether since 1986. All of these bikes take the same type of pad, front and rear. I've found absolutely no difference in performance or in longevity among any of them. I've used stock Suzuki pads (Tokico), EBC, Vesrah, SBS, no-name brands.