GS Self Cancelling Indicator Control Unit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

GS Self Cancelling Indicator Control Unit

The one that came with my '78 GS1000E is long gone and someone has bypassed it with some simple jumpers. The end result is that I must operate the turn signals manually. This is not acceptable to me.

One of the things I loved about my first GS1000E was the self cancelling turn signal feature. I've done some looking around and have not found a resonable replacement for this module. I can't imagine them being still available at the dealer so I won't even go there.

Here's what I'm thinking; I'll build a new one from scratch. I have the expertise, as an electronics professional, I've built many systems much more complicated than this.

What I'd like to know is;

1. How many would be interested in a fully functioning replacement and at what cost?

2. Does anyone have a unit that is currently not working that they would donate to me for reverse engineering purposes? I would replace the unit with a new one at a reasonable discount.

I need some feedback on this. I am definately going to build one for myself but, if I can sell more to others, I would engineer it for low cost and reliability.

...an interesting concept, James, but before you invest a lot of time in this you might want to check with a Suzuki or aftermarket dealer to see if a more modern replacement for another bike might not easily convert for use with our GS's.

Let us know what you find out, thanks!

Steve 8)

Comment

Mine is supposed to be "self canceling" but doesn't do squat, and I actually prefer to have full control over my signals anyway. I read that sometimes those units will cancel your signal before you want it to and many people actually disabled the feature. Well, mine came disabled. I would have disabled it myself if it had worked. Just my $.02 \/

Comment

Originally posted by 80gs1000e