headshake on deceleration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

headshake on deceleration

Just really in the last few weeks gotten time to start riding a GS1150ES I bought some time ago. I`ve got some new rubber on the way. In the meantime I have been riding a little(tires are not that bad although fairly worn). I have noticed that I have a moderate headshake when slowing down from moderate speeds. It only happens when I am loosely holding the bars and doesn`t do it everytime. Guess my question is is the rubber going to stop this or do I need start looking at steering head bearings ,etc. This is a low mileage bike so wear is not a issue I think. I have already serviced the forks and it shakes without the brakes. Guess I`m also wondering if this is common to the 1150. I noticed my hayabusa`s had a large steering stablizer stock. BTW the front is a metzler(2/3 worn out). Thanks for some good opinions!

I have no experience with the GS1150 but I can say that worn tires, and even type of tires, can have a huge effect on headshake. I have replaced tires that didn't seem seriously worn and have had great improvements in handling and headshake. I also had a set of new Dunlop (GT501's I think) on my '88 Hurricane 1000 that induced a terrible headshake. I replaced them with Metzeler MEZ4's and the headshake was gone. I'd definitely try tires before anything else.

Joe
    IBA# 24077
    '15 BMW R1200GS Adventure
    '07 Triumph Tiger 1050 ABS
    '08 Yamaha WR250R

"Krusty's inner circle is a completely unorganized group of grumpy individuals uninterested in niceties like factual information. Our main purpose, in an unorganized fashion, is to do little more than engage in anecdotal stories and idle chit-chat while providing little or no actual useful information. And, of course, ride a lot and have tons of fun.....in a Krusty manner."

Comment