Octane??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Octane??

Just wondering what octane of fuel you guys run? I've always ran premium (93) in all my bikes, but the recent gas price increases have the 87 stuff looking better to me

Use straight 87.
    Always buy it at a reputable station.
    I have been using "regular unleaded" for many years in both the GS and GT.
    The few times I have used "hi test", I never saw that much of a diff. Both in cars, bikes and boats.
    Doug aka crag antler

83GS1100E, gone
    2000 Kawasaki Concours
    Please wear ATGATT

Comment

Ditto

Ditto!!
      1980 GS1100E....Number 15!

Comment

My 750 runs fine on 87 octane as do most GS models. The 1150 is spec'd for 89 and pings terribly on 87. Hot days, it pings on 89 also, so 93 in the 1150.
        As long as you dont get a preignition ping, 87 is fine.

Earl
        Komorebi-The light filtering through the trees.

I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself than be crowded on a velvet cushion. H.D.T.

Comment

My 850 may have carbon buildup so it pings without premiun Its only 91 octain in Cal NO 93 available

Comment

1. Octane does not increase HP.
            2. Use what is specified for your machine.
            3. If your bike pings on 87 octane, you can usually retard the timing slightly (with subsequent loss in performance) and eliminate pre-detonation.
            4. Use of high octane fuels may cause poor idling when cold and unexplained stalling.
            5. Using premium in a low to mid compression engine is a waste of money!

Comment

Originally posted by basaraj
              3. If your bike pings on 87 octane, you can usually retard the timing slightly (with subsequent loss in performance) and eliminate pre-detonation.
              4. Use of high octane fuels may cause poor idling when cold and unexplained stalling.
              Interesting. But what is considered high compression? 9 to 1? 10 to 1? More?

Comment