1978 GS550 start/running problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1978 GS550 start/running problems

Hi, I'm a newbie to this scene but have just bought a 1978 GS550. I was wondering if anyone had the same problem as me when starting. The bike ran as lumpy as a bag of spanners from when I got it so I've cleaned the carbs, only setting the float levels and the mixture to 2 turns out (as in the book) I've left the jets alone. I put the fuel cock on prime and full choke and bingo! sweet music the engine fired first time and responded to the throttle like a racer. After about a minute the revs started to creep up and whitish grey smoke started from the exhaust. Now she will start on prime still but smokes and misfires or she will start using on/res but will fade and stall after a few seconds running. Could it be a fault in the fueltap either flooding or starving the carbs or should I look somewhere else for the fix.

cheers
    dave

Hi Dave

Welcome to "THE CLUB"

I have a 1977 GS550. When you put the fuel valve( I know the proper name, just trying to appease some of the sensitive members) on PRIME the fuel flows continuously and probably IS flooding the carbs. On ON or RES the valve needs vacuum from the engine to operate. Sounds like the valve isn't opening.
    I'd first check the vacuum line-it should be the smaller of the 2 connected to the fuel valve. If that is okay you probably need to rebuild or replace the fuel valve.
    Hope this is of help.
    Good luck!

Scott

Comment

Yes check the fuel valve it is common for them not to work after 20 years