Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Engine stalls and misfiring: GS 850 GL (1980)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Engine stalls and misfiring: GS 850 GL (1980)

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the GS and working on them, so please bear with me.

I just got my 850 running and have put about 200 miles on it. It has been running well for the first 150 miles, but began running rougher in the last 50 miles. Last night I was riding home and the engine stalled at a stop light. I got it started after a coupel of tries. The engine was running rougher. It felt like one or more cylinders were not firing at times. I made it home, but each time I would accellerate it would buck like it was missing. When I ran at about 3500 RPM it seemed fine, until I woudl accelerate again. When I pulled into the driveway it stalled after sounding like it was missing at least one cylinder.

All manifolds felt hot. I also have a sock for an air filter (I know I just got a new Uni and will put it in tonight)

So I am looking for a place to start. Air? Intake? Fuel? Plugs? What's your best guess

sounds like ignition coils to me...i had the same happen to my 550 before i put on Dyna coils and ignition. i dropped 2 cylinders going to work one day, which made for a slow ride....

what my old 550 does is when the coils get hot, ie-sitting in traffic or at a stop light, it stops firing everytime it should. once you get moving it cools off and returns spark. some coils may not cool off enough to start sparking again.

a good check to this would start it up cold and see how it behaves. if you have a problem cold, check the plugs and wires for spark. if you dont have a problem, get it nice and hot and see if it acts up.

easy way to check for spark at a plug wire without removing the plug is using a timing light. you need to make sure the plug is sparking though as well.

~Adam

Comment

how can I be sure it's the coil