Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Lots and lots and lots of questions about GS650!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lots and lots and lots of questions about GS650!!

I just got an '82 GS650GL (14000 miles) today and I have a ton of questions. I'm a complete newb to motorcycles. I have ridden them before, but I really have no idea how to care for one. So I want to first of all apologize if I sound like a complete stupid idiot. Have mercy.

1 - When I got the bike home, my friend and I tried to roll it off the trailer and it wouldn't budge. We finally realized it was the rear brake because when he pushed the brake pedal down it all of a suden started to roll back. After we got it down from the trailer the rear brake, although no longer locked up, was still dragging a little bit because it was making a light scraping noise and the bike seemed a little tough to push. Does anybody know what could be causing this? and is there a way to adjust the brakes? (it has disc brakes btw)

2- The bike has a drive shaft instead of a chain. On the grey part of the shaft that connects to the rear weel it says "Use Hypoid Gear Oil". I can't for the life of me figure out where the oil goes into. I also read something about it in the Q&A section, but it didn't say where exactly it goes.

3- The bike has two kickstands. I don't know how to get it on the middle kickstand, but is it okay to just always leave it on the side kickstand?

4- I popped the air filter out and it got oil on my hands. Is it supposed to have oil on it?

5- There are little black plastic (maybe just stiff rubber) pieces stuck to the fins of the engine. It looks like I am missing one on the left side. Is it necessary to get a new piece, and what purpose does it serve?

6- I read that the suspensions takes oil too, but again, I have no idea where to put it.