Brights cause battery drain???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brights cause battery drain???

Hey guys-- I'm lazy when it comes to anything electrical. I hate the black art of electricity and I try to avoid it whenever possible. This is why I have been using brights for the last six months. I need to locate and fix a connection to my regular headlight which has gone screwey but, like I said, I am lazy and why bother when I can just use my brights all the time? The wierd thing is--- after a couple months, my battery will slowly drain. For instance, when I am at a red light with a turn signal on and my front brake (thus, brake light) engaged, the signal will just stay on. It won't blink. If I turn the head lamp off, the system works fine. It will also work fine after a long ride, as if it has been charged back up. Again, three months later, I find that my bike isn't charged enough to get her started. Do the brights inherently run a little stronger than the charging system is able to follow? Cause, if I run the bike without the headlamp, the bike is fine.

Travis

If you hunt around the site for long you'll notice that unless you have an aftermarket charging system it is highly suspect. This means that it may be charging poorly or not at all, sounds like you're in the same boat as I am, where it'll sort of charge with no lights and drains with the lights on.

Anyhoo, you're pretty much stuck learning the black arts in this case I'm afraid. First, you'll want to tackle the low beam problem, though mostly likely that won't solve the power issue.

Invest in a charger like the battery Tender. Charge her up and have a read through the "Stator Papers" to learn all about the exciting world before the dawn of the Alternator.