Advice B/4 I tear it down

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice B/4 I tear it down

Newbie here and perhaps this has been discussed before...when my 1980 GS 1100L with 19K on it starts up, fine no problems, after it's warm, it idles at about 2500-3000 rpm's. I've ran a half a dozen tanks of seafoam or stabil thru it, nothing seems to help. Also, running premium in the tank seems to make it idle higher than regular gas. Air Leak or jets? I'm waiting for my manuals to arrive, (I bought both Haynes and Clymer) and have about six months to do everything that needs to be done. (dog-gone upper northern hemisphere winters!) Where would you people focus on first? I'd like to try something before it gets too cold to take a test drive, (i.e. *ss deep snow!) so here's your chance to weigh in. Just reading some of the thousands of posts on this site have given me the confidence to at least try to solve this problem myself---the regular contributors here have tons of knowledge and are willing to help. Thanks so much for this site and I'm looking forward to your replies. - Pete

What color is the center ceramic on each of the spark plugs. My inclination is that the idle mixtures could be off a little bit, and the the carbs are not well synchronized. Possibly a small leak in the induction system too.

Earl
    Komorebi-The light filtering through the trees.

I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself than be crowded on a velvet cushion. H.D.T.

Comment

Had the same problem on one of my 550's. Turned out to be an airleak where the carbs boots meet the cylinder head. Replaced the "O" rings under those babies, resynch'd the carbs and all was well. They get brittle and break. Make sure you use OEM rings, they are made for the higher temps.