Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

looking at buying '83 GS1100G, but has starter-gear problem?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

looking at buying '83 GS1100G, but has starter-gear problem?

Hi guys, this is my first time posting to the forum. Wow, some awesome knowledge here! The other day I came across a 1983 GS1100G bike that I really fell in love with. The owner is considering selling it, he needs the space in his shop, etc. etc, and from what I can tell it is a very clean, well maintained bike. It does have 49,000 original miles on it, but super clean, no leaks, strong compression. He says it's been stored inside. Now he is in the process of cleaning the carbs and preparing to sell it to me, but today I received an email from him that reads:
    "I did all the carburetor work and reinstalled them. When I went to start the bike, I discovered that a problem ha sarisen with the starter gear
    reduction clutch. The starter motor is just fine, but there is a spring
    and a pawl in the starter clutch that appears to have become dislodged.
    It should be a relatively easy fix if you have the correct puller.
    To be honest, I'm out of time and patience with this bike, and it's in my
    way. I'm just too busy to deal with it."

This guy runs an auto mechanic business, seems to know a lot and seems to be honest and trustworthy. But I didn't anticipate a problem like this coming up. Does anyone have any ideas about what I've just described? Easy, difficult, hard to say?? Now that he has discovered this problem he is asking $400 dollars for it.

Thanks!
    Isaac

super clean? go for it.
    what he described to you is the starter clutch, the starter on these bikes, and most bikes, work by spining a idler gear that spins the starter clutch mounted on the crank shaft.